About us

Australian coal operations will play a key role in Rio Tinto's plan to meet strong future demand for energy and steel, by operating and growing its global coal and uranium portfolio to maximise shareholder returns.

Rio Tinto Coal Australia is one of Australia's leading mining organisations with a highly successful record in the development and management of world-class open cut and underground coal operations.

Rio Tinto Coal Australia is 100 per cent owned by the Rio Tinto Group. Learn more about Rio Tinto.

Rio Tinto has made a commitment to sustainable development and Rio Tinto Coal Australia works to ensure that commitment is evident in everything we do. We believe acting responsibly will result in long term business benefits such as lowering risks, reducing costs, creating options and ensuring access to future resources. Read more about our sustainable development results.

Business overview

In Queensland, Rio Tinto Coal Australia operates the Hail Creek and Kestrel mines. In New South Wales, Rio Tinto Coal Australia manages Coal & Allied's operations at Mount Thorley Warkworth, Hunter Valley Operations and Bengalla.

Our Community Funds

How we contribute to the long term sustainability of the communities surrounding our operations.

Customers & suppliers

We do business with about 1700 suppliers in Queensland and about 1300 in New South Wales.

Register to be one of our suppliers.

Our products

Our challenge is to improve the contribution our products make by increasing their value and reducing impacts from their supply and use.

We produce a range of coal products for the export and domestic market, including thermal coal, hard coking coal and semi-soft coking coal.

What is coal?

Coal is a combustible, sedimentary, organic rock formed from ancient vegetation, which has been consolidated between other rock strata and transformed by the combined effects of microbial action, pressure and heat over a considerable time period.

We mine coal from open cut and underground coal seams in Queensland and New South Wales.